Old Kempton Distillery
About Old Kempton Distillery
The History of Dysart House and Old Kempton Distillery are now greatly intertwined – its gin is named after William Ellis, who built Dysart House in the 1840’s, the old stables is used as the “Bond Room”. The convict brick stables, once home to 22 horses, now houses Old Kempton’s Tasmanian -made copper still. The front rooms have been restored offering an engaging Cellar Door and café experience for customers.
A variety of casks, from all over the world, are used to mature Old Kempton Distillery’s whiskies including Spanish sherries and Portuguese ports. Old Kempton Distillery has built a strong following for its whisky matured in Tasmanian Pinot Noir casks.
Old Kempton Distillery proudly contributes to Tasmania’s tourism success with its cellar door and café which is open daily from 11am until 3pm.
The cellar door features a café in the main manor house, available to customers to sit and relax while they enjoy some home cooked treats from the kitchen. The café cooks with Tasmanian produce and serves food such as Whisky pies, Devonshire Teas, soup and Antipasto platters.
The cellar door offers a wide variety of tastings of both Old Kempton Distillery products – including Single Malt Whisky, Lavender Malt, a variety of Gin’s and Liqueurs. Our Cellar Door stocks a range of Kempton made and Tasmanian made products, mementos and merchandise.
Tour’s run daily at 11am & 1.30pm allowing guests to see behind the scenes of a true artisan working distillery.
Old Kempton Distillery is focused on Supporting Local. We hire local staff, use local produce in our Café, use Tasmanian Barley, use Tasmanian water and stock local Kempton Small Businesses in our Cellar Door. We are a small and dedicated team who each learn every part of the business and work together to achieve our goal – being Tasmania’s most loved Artisan Distillery.
Contact Old Kempton Distillery
Phone: 03 6259 3082
Old Kempton Distillery Kempton
Address: 26 Main St, Kempton, TAS 7030